2021 Concert Tour


Jan 1 - Cherokee Bluffs Park, Flowery Branch, GA

Jan 2 - Tumbling Creek Wetlands, Oakwood, GA

Jan 3 - Don Carter State Park, Gainesville, GA

Jan 4 - Tugaloo State Park, Lavonia, GA YouTube

Feb 1 - Yahoola Park, Dahlonega, GA

Feb 2 - Tumbling Creek Wetlands, Oakwood, GA


Mar 6 - Watson Mill Bridge State Park, Comer, GA

Mar 6 - Victoria Bryant State Park, Royston, GA

Mar 6 - Williams Mill Greenspace, Flowery Branch, GA

Apr 1 - Sheltered Acres, Sheridan, WY

Apr 1 - Tongue River Reservoir State Park, Decker, MT

Apr 2 - Mt. Rushmore, Keystone, SD

Apr 2 - Fort Robinson State Park, Crawford, NE

Apr 3 - Colorado Welcome Center, Fort Collins, CO


May 8 - Tampa Intl Airport, Tampa, FL

May 8 - Cincinnati Intl Airport, Hebron, KY

May 8 - Bear Rocks Lake, Valley Grove, WY

May 8 - Walter Vineyards, Ripley, NY

May 9 - Presque Isle State Park, PN

May 9 - Cawtaba State Park, OH

May 9 - Luna Pier, MI

May 9 - Richmond Rose Garden, Richmond, IN

May 10 - Cincinnati Intl Airport, Hebron, KY

May 10 - Chicago Midway Intl Airport, Chicago, IL

May 10 - Orlando Intl Airport, Orlando, FL

May 15 - Smithgall Woods State Park, Helen, GA

May 23 - Valley Wells, Nipton, CA

May 23 - Red Cliffs, St. George, UT

May 24 - Grand Canyon, AZ

May 25 - Hoover Dam, NV

June 6 - Red Top Mountain State Park, Acworth, GA

June 6 - Benton County Rest Area, Holladay, TN

June 7 - Steele Park, Steele, MO

June 7 - Arkansas Welcome Center, Blytheville, AR

June 7  - Music Bend Nature Trail, Tupelo, MS

June 7 - Walker County Public Lake Dam, Jasper, AL

June 13 - Kennesaw Mountain, Marietta, GA

June 14 - Chickamauga, Fort Oglethorpe, GA

JUGU21 - Composers Retreat

July 15 - Summer Tuba Tour 2021 w/Joe L. Alexander - Emporia, VA 

July 17 - Summer Tuba Tour 2021 w/Joe L. Alexander - Virginia Beach, VA

July 18 - Summer Tuba Tour 2021 w/Joe L. Alexander - Ahoskie, VA

August 2 - FDR State Park, Pine Mountain, GA

August 6 - Hastings Branch Library, Hastings, FL

August 8 - Trinidad Lake State Park, CO

August 8 - Capulin Volcano Nat. Monument, NM

August 8 - Tri State Monument, Dalhart, TX

August 8 - Cimarron Heritage Center, Boise, OK

August 8 - Whistle Stop Park, Elkhart, TX


October 22 - Rest Area, Oxford, NC

October 22 - Bladensburg Waterfront Park, Bladensburg, MD

October 22 - New Castle Battery Park, New Castle, DE

October 22 - Riverview Beach Park, Pennsville, NJ

October 23 - National Mall, Washington D.C.

October 23 - Virginia Beach Boardwalk, Virginia Beach, VA

2021 Roster
Joe L. Alexander
David Bernstein

John Bilotta

Ken Davies

Paul Dice

Matthew Durrant

Jason Fick

Brian Field

Ashley Floyd

Garrison Gerard

Alan Goldspiel

Ian Guthrie

David Haney

Joshua Harris

Mike McFerron

Richard Montalto

Stephen Montalvo

Timothy Moyers

Dallin Peoples

David Peoples

Tanner Peoples

William Price

Leah Reid

Minato Sakamoto

Dawn Sonntag

Greg Steinke

Young Composer Award - 2021

Sounds New began its first-ever award this year to recognize younger composers. In 2021 no award was given, but we did recognize Peyton Nelesen with an honorable mention.

Peyton Nelesen is a composer and pianist who was born outside of Chicago, Illinois, grew up in Atherton, California, and recently moved to NYC to attend The Spence School. At age 11, she was the youngest winner of the 2019 ASCAP Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards. At age 12, she was an Honorable Mention recipient of the 2020 ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Awards as well as an Honorable Mention of the Luna Composition Lab. Her music has also won first place in the International Torrance Legacy Creativity Awards four years in a row.

Peyton began studying piano and composing music at the age of four. She studies music composition with John Syzygy, has studied classical piano with Penka Rodeva and jazz piano with the late Amonte Parsons who himself studied with Oscar Peterson. Peyton has had the great fortune to have her music performed and recorded by amazing and unparalleled musicians such as Randy Emata, Brian Collier, Alex Csillag, Ron King, Ian Roller, Sean Erick, James Harrah, Lisa Liu, Ben Lash, Geoff Osika, Mike Cordone, Phil O'Conner, P. Blake Cooper, Ani Aznavoorian, Scott Worthington, Sean Rosati and Jordan Ferreira.